Thursday, March 09, 2006

HD!

Has anyone heard about this new technology for TVs, called HDTV?
I’m joking, because it seems that you can’t even watch ANY primetime show without being taunted by the phrase “In HD where available”. This usually can be translated into the phrase “Everybody has it but you! Na-na-na-na-na!”

While I know not everyone has HD yet, and it’s still a relatively new format, I’m still one of those people who really, really digs technology (gadgets, gizmos, doodads, whatever). Not only that but Eva and I have a serious LOST habit that we just can’t shake ;-) What has made this even worse is our recent subscription to DirecTV. I’m not knocking DirecTV; the service has been great so far. It’s just that now that we’ve gotten rid of the fuzz from the rabbit ears we can totally notice that we’re missing part of the show.

LOST, like a bunch of other shows, shows a full-screen (no black bars on top and bottom) version of their HD TV program. What stinks is that when you’re watching a show like LOST on a normal TV (mountain on the left) you’re actually missing between 2-3 inches on each side of the show (mountain on the right).


While most people wouldn’t really care about missing a couple of inches off of a show about mountains (no research done, just take my word for it), when you watching a show like LOST (or even better, 24!!), you want all you can get. So, the reason I went ahead and got HD can be described in one word “MORE!”

I did a bunch of research and finally found the TV that would give me all the features I wanted (digital picture, multiple input connections, display size). It was the 30” Samsung Slimfit HDTV and I found a great deal on it from PriceGrabber.com. The site is kinda like Amazon.com, because it connects you with a bunch of different retailers that sell what you’re looking for. The site listed MegaElectronicsOutlet and said they would give a great deal on a damaged box model.

I was sooo excited. I thought that I was saving some money because the original box was damaged and they "say" that the big retailers can't sell the TVs in a damaged box. This is where the story gets fun. 1. The shipping company MegaElectronicsOutlet used to deliver it never called to schedule delivery. 2. When they came by my house at 10:00 in the morning and noticed I wasn't home, they left a note for me to reschedule an appt. 3. I found out that it was going to be an additional charge of $32!! Or I could just pick it up 15 miles from my home at the shipping warehouse. (I should have paid the $32)

So I drove out to the warehouse to pick up the TV. MegaElectronicsOutlet was right about the condition of the box… It was in bad shape. But I was too excited to really worry about it. I brought it home (singing all the way). Took it out of the box (The sucker was heavy!) Noticed some scratches and a dent (didn't care) Plugged in every thing I own (xbox, satellite, vcr, PS2, bowflex). Pushed the button and....... nothing. absolutely nothing...wait...a hiss... a long hiss and then nothing...KAAAAAAAAHNNNNNNNNNN!!!!

MegaElectronicsOutlet sold me a used TV that didn't even work!!! I had to contact Samsung to have a technician come out and I'm still waiting. (Violins fade in...)